Life Lesson 4 for Teens: Adulthood is more of the same.

Posted: January 23, 2013 by abestratton in Articles, Resources

Here’s another installment in Rick’s series of articles to teens.
Life Lesson 4: If you think your teacher is tough, wait till you get a boss.

You could say what Sykes said this way: “If you think your parents were difficult, wait until you get a boss, husband, or a wife.” Somehow I had it in my head that things would be different when I became an adult and struck out on my own.

The reason I had this in my head was because I thought my problems were primarily because of my parents. As I entered the workforce I began to realize I was having similar problems. Shazam! Different play. Same drama.

Rather than acknowledging or owning the conflict as my problem, I did the same thing I did as a teen–I blamed. Mercifully, Christ came into my life in my mid-twenties and He began to reorient my mind around this victim mentality I cherished.

I’m not a victim and you’re not either. Remember, you and I were guilty before God, standing under His judgment, and condemned to a Christ-less eternity in hell (John 3:36).

If you have not been born again (John 3:7), then you’re still guilty before God, condemned, and living under His displeasure (John 3:36). Whether you are saved or lost, you are not a victim.

If you think your parents were difficult, then get ready: the rest of your life will be more of the same. Don’t try to fool yourself into thinking you’re going to be different and when you get your shot, it will turn out better. Without Christ controlling your thoughts and behaviors, diverse dysfunction will be the theme of your life.

The only way things will possibly turn out better for you is if you embrace the transformative power of the Gospel. Only Christ can change your life. Your parents are not the answer and you’re not the answer either.

Leave a Reply

