Life Lesson 3 for Teens: Find Christ; quit pouting.

Posted: January 16, 2013 by abestratton in Articles, Resources

It’s been awhile since I posted the first couple of these articles, but here is another helpful write-up by counselor Rick Thomas.

The world doesn’t care about your self-esteem. The world will expect you to accomplish something before you feel good about yourself.

Because the world is the way it is, you need not expect it to care for you. The world is a dog-eat-dog kind of place. Parents are no different. Apart from the saving and transformative grace of God in a parent’s life, no child will make it through childhood without being mistreated. (Even wonderful, God-loving parents mistreat their kids.)

Because we live in a cursed world, God put a plan in place to turn the tide of evil (John 3:16). He did this by sending His one and only Son to come and pay for the penalty man incurred (Romans 3:23, 6:31, 5:8, 10:9, 13).

It could be your parents have shown little interest, insight, or biblical involvement in your life. That was the way it was for me as a child. I was not cared for, discipled, or led to the only Person who could change me. I was left to figure it out on my own.

It wasn’t until I was 25-years old before I “accomplished” something and that something was subjecting myself to the Lord Jesus Christ. I would not say it the way Sykes said it–it was actually Christ who accomplished my salvation, not me–I’m merely interacting with his point and altering it to a more biblical worldview.

Rather than expecting the world or your parents to care for you, it would be better for you to seek to have something more profound accomplished in your life: you need another Parent, the only one who can perfectly help you.

Leave a Reply

